TV Jeopardy Greats

Jeopardy host Alex Trebec, left, appear with contestants James Holzhauer, Ken Jennings and Brad Rutter during filming in Los Angeles. Jennings won the tournament that featured three of the show’s most successful contestants.

There is now one Jeopardy! contestant who can accurately call himself the “Greatest of All Time.”

Ken Jennings, the computer programmer turned full-time Jeopardy! champion, won the show’s epic prime-time trivia tournament that featured the three most successful contestants in the history of the show, which debuted in 1964. Jennings won his third game Tuesday night, defeating James Holzhauer in a tight contest.

Leading after two games by 10,419 points, Jennings correctly answered the Final Jeopardy! answer with “Who is Iago?” and had cautiously wagered no points. Holzhauer had wagered all he had and thus would have won had he not answered, “Who is Horatio?” (The Final Jeopardy! answer was, “He has 272 speeches, the most of any non-title character in a Shakespeare tragedy,” referring to the character in Othello.)

“It has taken 15 years for Ken Jennings to finally answer the question, ‘Is he as good as he appeared to be in that great run on Jeopardy!?’” host Alex Trebek said after the game before anointing Jennings “the Greatest of All Time Jeopardy! champion.”

Brad Rutter again finished a distant third and was largely not a factor during the competition.