St. Thomas-St. John District math coordinator Avon Benjamin, left, poses with Antilles School mathletes Ronit Totwani, Aisha Khenani, Julien Loewenstein, Ariel Paul and coach Michele Humphries, who will represent the territory in the national MATHCOUNTS competition in Orlando, Fla.

Antilles School students Ronit Totwani, Julien Loewenstein, Ariel Paul and Aisha Khenani will represent the U.S. Virgin Islands in the 2019 Raytheon MATHCOUNTS National Championship slated for May 12 and 13 in Orlando, Fla. The students earned the top scores in both the sprint and target rounds combined at the State MATHCOUNTS competition held at the University of the Virgin Islands Great Hall on St. Croix. Michele Humphries of Antilles School will coach the team.

The competition included a sprint round, in which students are given 40 minutes to complete 30 math problems, a target round comprised of four pairs of problems in which students have six minutes each to finish and a team round which allows teams of four 20 minutes to complete ten problems.

The Antilles school team placed first in the team round and the Good Hope Country Day School placed second. The participating student mathletes were from the Antilles School, Bertha C. Boschulte Middle School, Good Hope Country Day School, Church of God Holiness Academy and John H. Woodson Junior High School.

This year, the Bertha C. Boschulte Middle School entered the Math Video Challenge. Their video, #VI Strong is one of four finalists out of over 250 video submissions. Taragee Gumbs, Ciara Rodney, Malik Francis and Gloria Lugo, along with their coach Mark Joseph Sy, created a 5-minute video that depicts a real-life scenario where the school is affected by the aftermath of two category 5 hurricanes in just two weeks. The background music is an original arrangement from the school’s Flambo Combo.

The Blazers will present the video to the 224 national MATHCOUNTS competitors, and those students will vote on one winner. The winning team will receive recognition, a trophy and a $1,000 college scholarship for each student.