Thurgood Marshall

Thurgood Marshall was named to the Supreme Court by President Lyndon Johnson in June 1967.

In many churches, May 17 is set aside for special observance of the date on which, in 1954, the Supreme Court of the United States rendered its unanimous decision, in the case of Oliver Brown et al. vs. Board of Education of Topeka, Kansas, declaring racially segregated public schools to be inherently unequal and consequently impermissible under the 14th Amendment of the nation’s Constitution.

More specifically, May 17 is designated an ecclesiastical feast day honoring in this way symbolically, “Blessed” Thurgood Marshall, who — after the death of Charles Hamilton Houston, a former dean of Howard University’s College of Law — succeeded to the leadership of the teams of lawyers, scholars in related fields and community organizers around the United States, coordinated by the NAACP Legal Defense and Education Fund, which represented the appellants.